writing against the clock

The older I get, the more I realize I will never have enough time.

I’m not even ‘old!’ (And I’m definitely not complaining).

There is no ‘I’ll get to it later’. There is no ‘just a few minutes, then I’ll begin.’ With a toddler on the loose, a pile of laundry, and two hours before I have to be at work, there is only now.

I need to get better at managing my time. Do I have an easy answer for you that will solve all our time problems? Hah, I wish. There is no easy.

With Camp NaNoWriMo coming sooner than I want to admit, I realize I only have two options: drop my current revisions and start afresh with new words, or use revisions as part of my Camp project. New words are fun. Putting a project on hold is not. I still don’t know what I’ll do — in true Barbarian style, I’m waiting till the last minute to decide.

The spirit of NaNoWriMo isn’t really to ‘write fast’. If we’re writing against the clock, it’s not a words per hour metric. We each have twenty-four hours in a day, and it takes gumption to write when there are chores and meetings and other obligations. It takes courage to say no, I can’t do that favor for you because I have to write today. It takes willpower to keep plodding along when the end is not yet in sight.

But we do it anyway, because we’re all writing against the clock.

2 thoughts on “writing against the clock”

  1. I worry about running out of time despite my young age, too. Like Amy, I like to think of it as initiative, or the fact that I’ve already found my calling so my creativity is just rearing to get my journey well on its way. Good luck with Camp NaNoWriMo, whichever project you choose!

Leave a Reply

